Small Ink #004

For the fourth piece, I thought about drawing some kind of birds and owls just came to my mind.  Owls are one of my favorite birds. I still remember how I felt when I first watched the movie, Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole. It is such a beautiful film about love, friendship and faith and most important of all it is about owls! The baby owls in this movie are the cutest little thing ever. Okay, if you haven’t watched the movie you totally should. If you have then you can continue reading. Here is my first draft.

Scan 2017-5-12 21.27.04
Draft one of the Barn Owl

My first draft was done quickly because I already knew how I wanted to position the owl. The owl would be at the center of the circle and surround by flowers. However I felt like this couldn’t be just a piece of an owl, there had to be something different. Therefore I came up with an idea to make the owl stand in a way that viewers can’t tell if one of its wing is replaced by a leaf or not.

draft1
Draft two of the Barn Owl

After masking one of its wing with a leaf, I began to put in more detail to the image. I was a bit hesitant about the texture of the leaf though.

draft2
Draft three of the Barn Owl

Somehow I thought this image was lost in details. It may sound wired but I wanted to make the image more clean and light. Therefore I started on another drawing. This time I decided to change the texture of the leaf and use dots instead of fine lines to depict the owl’s face. I added more flowers and I also added thick outlines to the flowers and leaves to give the image more contrast. Here is the finished piece.

The Barnowl

For a better look at the finished piece, please click here. I would like to know do you like the final result? I hope you enjoy Small Ink #004. Cheers 🌿

 

 

Leave a Reply

