Intuition – Part 1

This is my first abstract series. It started out as a break from my daily watercolor practice. 

If you want to know more about how it started, you can read this post. After I made the first abstract piece I felt really fascinated by the process of making it. I began to work on different subjects that came to my mind. These subjects are not necessarily related. I just let myself be creative and think of anything that I would like to draw and depict. When I had a subject in mind, the first thing I did was to dump my ideas onto the paper. I added ideas, details concerning the subject. Everything was rather intuitive and raw. I called this series intuition because I just use my intuition to create and to decide what I wanted to include in an image. I also put down notes about what colors I wanted to use and what textures I wanted to combine with the images. Some subjects didn’t make it into my final work and some of them didn’t look exactly the same because I also allowed myself to make any changes I saw fit in the process.

abstract draft )1
Thought dumping 01
abstract draft )2
Thought dumping 02

 

Here is the question, should I explain my art? Before posting my abstract work onto my Instagram page I thought about leaving all my abstract work without any explanation because I wanted my viewers to read what they see themselves. However I also wanted to make statements that describe my work. These statements are not there to instruct viewers what to think or what to look at but to express my thoughts and feelings when I created these images. When I am not there to talk about my art, my statements will be able to deliver my thoughts on my behalf. Therefore I decided to add captions, something more like a short poem, along with every post I made on my Instagram. However I felt like telling my readers more on my blog. Therefore in this post I will not only include those captions but also walk you through all my abstract work, including the idea behind them. This series was made using ink and watercolor with post production using Photoshop.

Here are the images before post production.

IMAG2925
Top: A Forest; Bottom: The Dessert.
IMAG2927
Left: A Library; Right: A Shopping Mall.
IMAG2930
Left:The Ocean; Top Right: The Crowd; Bottom Right: An Argument

 

The following images are listed as the order I created them.

forest
A Forest.

Little creatures at your feet.

Giant trees taller than your being.

Immersed in the song of the forest,

I felt relieved.

I used geometric shapes to represent objects seen in a forest, naming trees, creatures, plants and overall the nature itself. There is also an alphabetical clue in the image hinting the viewers that this is a forest. I tried to use light and soft colors because that’s how I feel about a forest. Forests make me happy and relaxed so I wanted to translate that feeling into my drawing. I also added some scratches and grains in the post production to give the image a bit of roughness. This was a rather fun attempt without too much detail.

Click here to have a better look at this image.

 

Shopping Mall
A Shopping Mall

I have to wait in line to get my stuff.

I got to wait in line to get what I want.

There are people in front of me and behind me,

all with money in their hands.

We are all waiting for something.

This image is about a shopping mall. I used dots to represent people and the use of the dollar sign was quite obvious here. The numbers and squares are goods, merchandise and things you see in a shopping mall. A straight line separates people and the goods but both sides have one thing in common.  In the post production, I made the image as cold as the concrete walls widely used in huge shopping malls. One thing I left without an explanation was the curly thing. Can you guess what they are?

Click here to have a better look at this image.

 

Dessert
The Dessert

Don’t get lost in a dessert for the water you thirst is under the ground.

Don’t get lost in a dessert for the sand you stand on may bury the oasis.

Don’t get lost in a dessert for travelers would not see you

but the mirage in the air.

This is an image of a dessert. You can see water is under the ground. You can see oasis and destinations. Those dots are travelers. Here I used two Chinese characters meaning dessert in Xiaozhuan. Xiaozhuan, also known as small seal script, is an archaic form of Chinese calligraphy. Personally I find Xiaozhuan to be very beautiful. It is one of my favorite old Chinese. In post production I added grains to the image and colored it with sand yellow, hopefully to create a sense of dryness and heat.

Click here to have a better look at this image.

 

These are the first 3 out of the 7 images in this series. For the rest of the work I will talk about them in Intuition – Part 2. I hope you enjoy this post and please feel free to leave a comment.

Cheers.

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Intuition – Part 1

  1. Hmmmm …. to explain or not to explain … ? I see the dilemma … on the one hand, I agree with you that art is subject to individual interpretation, and you do not want to inhibit the viewer from using their own imagination, from being free to view with their own eyes. On the other hand, if you want the viewer to understand … no … no, I think you let the viewer form their own opinions. It would be very interesting to see if others see your work in the same light as you, without you leading them down that path with words, but merely with your art. I love this post and your work!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the feedback Jill. I believe that when people look at an art piece they’ve already taken away whatever experience they had. It’s very important to leave this unique experience to the viewers. However I believe a basic introduction to the work is still essential for an art piece/ or a series of work. The statements work more like fundamental underpinnings that convey and present the art itself. I believe artists create for a reason and it’s the same for writers. When writers talk about their work, they are not trying to tell readers what to think. They talk about the drive behind the work and why they want to write about certain subjects. It’s for readers to dig deeper and even to see things that are not talked about by the author him/herself. However I do think that to what degree should we talk about our work is a very difficult task. Again, thank you so much for the comment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes … that makes sense … rather like an author’s forward or afterward commentary. And you are right … deciding how much or how little is difficult. But I’m sure you will find just the right balance!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Intuition Part 2

Leave a Reply

